Somalia: Terrorist Designation of Al-Shabaab Leaders

The United States continues to support Somalia and our other East African partners in their efforts to disrupt al-Shabaab’s operations.  Countering one of al-Qa’ida’s most dangerous affiliates, which has killed thousands of people, including Americans, in Somalia and across East Africa remains a shared priority with the Somali government.

Today, the Department of State is designating five al-Shabaab leaders as Specially Designated Global Terrorists under Executive Order (E.O.) 13224, as amended:

Maxamed Siidow is a finance emir and a commander in the group’s armed wing, the Jabha. Siidow oversees illicit taxation operations in Aliyow Barrow in the Lower Shabelle, Somalia.  He has also led al-Shabaab fighters in attacks and participated in attack planning operations utilizing improvised explosive devices (IEDs).

Cali Yare is a finance emir who oversees al-Shabaab’s illicit taxation operations for the village of Beled Amin, Lower Shabelle. Yare is responsible for consolidating all religious taxation and illegal taxes collected from civilians and clan elders.  Yare directed and claimed responsibility for the November 14, 2018, IED attack on Somali Armed Forces near the village of Calagaad, Lower Shabelle.

Maxamed Dauud Gabaane is a finance emir, responsible for all al-Shabaab finance operations in Wanlaweyn District and Beled Amin, Lower Shabelle. Gabaane also serves as the head of the group’s intelligence wing, the Amniyat, in Wanlaweyn District.  Gabaane operates an extensive early warning and informant network that regularly collects information on coalition forces and Somalis who work at the Baledogle Military Airfield.