South Sudan assumes East African Community Summit Chairpersonship » Capital News

NAIROBI, Kenya, Nov 24 — South Sudan President Salva Kiir has taken over as the Chairperson of the East African Community (EAC) Summit from his Burundian counterpart President Évariste Ndayishimiye.

The transition occurred during the final day of the 23rd Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State in Arusha on Friday.

The EAC Chairperson slot is a rotational position, with each Member State holding the position for a one-year term.

Ndayishimiye, the outgoing EAC Chairperson, assumed the role in July 2023 during the 22nd Ordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State, taking over from former Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta.

In his new role, President Kiir will serve as the primary Spokesperson for the EAC, scheduling, noticing, and calling public meetings, hearings, and other events.

In situations where the president is unable to fulfill these duties due to other commitments, he has the authority to delegate a minister to represent him at the Summit.

South Sudan officially joined the EAC on April 16, 2016.

The EAC consists of seven partner countries: Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Somalia is set to become the eight Member after the Summit approved its bid to join the bloc on Friday, clearing the way for its accession.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community was signed in Arusha on November 30, 1999, and entered into force on July 7, 2000, following the successful ratification process and deposit of the Instruments of Ratification by the three founding Partner States at the time.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *