Nominated opposition MPs outshine govt counterparts in new poll » Capital News

NAIROBI, Kenya Apr 2 — Nominated Members of Parliament in Azimio La Umoja Coalition have outshined their counterparts in Kenya Kwanza Alliance, a new rating has shown.

A Nairobi-based pollster, Timely Kenya, rated nominated opposition lawmakers as the top performers despite being numerically disadvantaged both in the National Assembly and the Senate.

Findings of the survey conducted between 2023 and March 2024 rated Azimio MPs at 61 per cent with their Kenya Kwanza counterparts polling at 61 per cent in the National Assembly.

Top performers included Former Minority Leader John Mbadi (52 per cent), Irene Mayaka (51 per cent), Dorothy Muthoni (47.6 per cent), Jackson Kosgei (39 per cent), Umulkher Harun (36.2 per cent), Sabina Chege (36 per cent) and Suleka Hulbale (27 per cent).

The pollster singled out bill sponsorship by Chege and Mbadi as key indicators. The two are behind Cancer Prevention Bill 2023 and the Public Finance Management Act 2023.

The pollster scored Nominated MPs Mayaka, Muthoni, and Kosgei for sponsoring statements and motions before the House.

Tie in Senate

Joseph Wainaina (14 per cent), Abdisirat Khalif (9.9 per cent), Joseph Hamisi (7 per cent) and Teresia Wanjiru (11 per cent) performed dismally according to the poll.

In the Senate, Nominated Senators from the two opposing sides tied in their performance rating.

Nominated Senators who scored highly in the poll include Hamida Kibwana (75 per cent), Tabitha Mutinda (69.8 per cent), Gloria Orwoba (66 per cent), Beth Syengo (61 per cent), Essy Okenyuri (60.5 per cent), Catherine Mumma (52 per cent), Miraj Abdulrahaman (52 per cent) and Crystal Asige (50.4 per cent).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Senators ranked poorly in the opinion poll include Raphael Chimera and Beatrice Oyomo who tied at 17 per cent, Margret Kamar (14 per cent), George Mbugua (13.5 per cent), Hezena Lemaletian (13.1 per cent), and Joyce Korir (8 per cent).

Notable bills sponsored by the nominated senators include E-Health Bill, 2023 (Sen Kibwana), Labour Migration and Management Bill, 2023 (Sen Mutinda), Digital Literacy Opportunities Bill, 2024 (Sen Nyamu), and the Maternal Bill, 2023 (Sen Beatrice).

Other are the Law of Succession Bill, 2023 (Sen Maina) and the  Streets Vendors Bill, 2023 (Sen Okenyuri).

About The Author

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *