It’s Boston Marathon Day: Here is all you need to know

NAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 15 – The Boston Marathon is scheduled to go down Monday evening with the Kenyan duo of Evans Chebet and Hellen Obiri looking forward to defending their titles.

Both are in the Kenyan marathon team for the Olympic Games later this year, and a good performance in Boston will be key in boosting their motivation, and affirming their places when the final team is named.

What time does the marathon start?

The Elite men’s race starts at 9:37am local time, which is 4:37pm EAT. The women’s race guns off 10 minutes later.

How much is the prize money?

The Boston Marathon offers a lucrative package for the top finishers. The winner of the race (both men and women) take home 150,000 USD, which is approximately Sh19.6mn in today’s exchange rate.

Anyone who breaks a course record gets an additional bonus of 50,000 US Dollars, approximately Sh6.5mn in today’s exchange rate.

Boston offers cash rewards for finishers up to 10th position. The second place finisher gets USD75,000 (Sh9.8mn) and 40,000 USD (Sh5.2mn) for third place. The 10th placed athlete in the race gets 5,500 USD (Sh716,000).

Who are the two leading lights in the men and women’s race?

Obiri, who transitioned fully to marathon after the Olympic Games in Paris, has been slowly mastering the 42km distance and she looks in fine shape to defend her crown.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

She made her debut in New York in 2022, clocking 2:25:49, a time that remains her official PB.

Five months later, she won on Boston’s downhill course in 2:21:38, then triumphed in a tactical race in New York at the end of 2023 in 2:27:23.

Her only race so far this year came in January at the Houston Half Marathon, where she finished second in 1:06:07.

Having won her past two marathons, the two-time world 5000m champion will be keen to make it three in a row on Monday.

Obiri is one of four past Boston winners who’ll take to the startline in the women’s race, alongside two-time champion Edna Kiplagat, 2015 winner Caroline Rotich and 2018 victor Desiree Linden.

Kiplagat, the 2017 and 2021 champion, will be making her seventh appearance at the Boston Marathon. The 44-year-old, who has a PB of 2:19:50, finished seventh at last year’s New York Marathon.

Other leading Kenyans in the field include 2022 world marathon silver medallist Judith Korir, 2022 New York champion Sharon Lokedi, 2015 world silver medallist Helah Kiprop, and 2014 world half marathon silver medallist Mary Ngugi-Cooper.

In the men’s race, Chebet heads to Boston looking to become the first man to win three back-to-back titles since Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot in 2008.

In fact, only four men in total have achieved that feat, with Clarence DeMar (1922-1924), Bill Rodgers (1978-1980) and Cosmas Ndeti (1993-1995) preceding Cheruiyot’s triple.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Chebet won in Boston in 2022 in 2:06:51, then successfully defended his title last year in 2:05:54 – his sixth victory from his past seven marathons.

Elite fields


Tadu Teshome (ETH) 2:17:36

Hiwot Gebrekidan (ETH) 2:17:59

Judith Korir (KEN) 2:18:20

Meseret Belete (ETH) 2:18:21

Tiruye Mesfin (ETH) 2:18:47

Worknesh Edesa (ETH) 2:18:51

Senbere Teferi (ETH) 2:19:21

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Dera Dida (ETH) 2:19:24

Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:19:50

Mary Ngugi-Cooper (KEN) 2:20:22

Sara Hall (USA) 2:20:32

Ababel Yeshaneh (ETH) 2:20:51

Vibian Chepkirui (KEN) 2:20:59

Siranesh Yirga (ETH) 2:21:08

Helah Kiprop (KEN) 2:21:27

Buze Diriba (ETH) 2:23:11

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Emma Bates (USA) 2:23:18

Caroline Rotich (USA) 2:23:22

Sharon Lokedi (KEN) 2:23:23

Fatima Gardadi (MAR) 2:24:12

Angie Orjuela (COL) 2:25:35

Fabienne Konigstein (GER) 2:25:48

Hellen Obiri (KEN) 2:25:49


Sisay Lemma (ETH) 2:01:48

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Evans Chebet (KEN) 2:03:00

Gabriel Geay (TAN) 2:03:00

Cyprian Kotut (KEN) 2:04:34

Haftu Teklu (ETH) 2:04:43

Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:04:49

John Korir (KEN) 2:05:01

Mohamed Esa (ETH) 2:05:05

Suguru Osako (JPN) 2:05:29

Sondre Moen (NOR) 2:05:48

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Zouhair Talbi (MAR) 2:06:39

Isaac Mpofu (ZIM) 2:06:48

Albert Korir (KEN) 2:06:57

-Additional information courtesy World Athletics 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *