Kenya: Three Women in ‘Race’ for Nairobi’s Governor Seat

Three women are among 17 aspirants who have expressed interest in the race for Nairobi City County’s gubernatorial seat.

Ms Agnes Kagure and Ms Betty Adera will compete against three men for the Jubilee Party ticket in the primaries scheduled for January 9.

Mr Dennis Waweru, Mr Alex Kipchirchir and Mr Habib Kongo are their competitors as gazetted by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on January 4.

While Ms Phyllis Wangari Njuru is the only female aspirants among 12 aspirants contesting as independent candidates.

Jubilee Party continues with its preparations for the by-election despite a High Court decision on Monday to suspend the mini-poll originally planned for February 18. The court is to hear and determine former Governor Mike Sonko’s petition challenging his impeachment.

Hit ground running

Nairobi County Assembly impeached Mr Sonko on December 3 for gross violation of the Constitution or any other law, abuse of office, gross misconduct and crimes under national law.

The decision was later upheld by the Senate on December 17, prompting him to defend his position.

“Although the courts have spoken, we are preparing ourselves so that just as soon as the by-election is allowed to proceed, then we hit the ground running,” Jubilee Secretary General Raphael Tuju told the Nation in a January 6 article.

Meanwhile, Mr Peter Agoro on Monday notified the High Court of his discontinuation and withdrawal of the petition challenging nomination of Ms Ann Kananu as deputy governor.